I’m enjoying such a nice feeling of success this week. I have finished the porch renovation I started about two weeks ago.

BEFORE pics:

We did not repaint the dog.

We did not repaint the dog.

Before porch from kitchen door

The kitchen door is our main entrance, and it leads to a screened-in porch. We have treated the porch badly over the years. The “Before” pictures don’t do justice to how unattractive the area was because I had already started clearing out by the time I remembered the camera. Imagine a grill in the corner getting soot everywhere, a dirty recycling bin, and piles and piles of unclaimed stuff. Thanks to the dogs, there were always balls of fur with dried bug carcasses rolled into the corners.

AFTER pics:

Porch from deck stairs

A red door! Our devoted reader, Margo, convinced me to go for it.

A red door! Our devoted reader, Margo, convinced me to go for it.

But now! After a few gallons of paint and several promises to myself to do better maintenance, we have a new-looking porch!  I’m searching for just the right white lights to string around the perimeter of the ceiling, then I’ll call it truly complete.

Designs courtesy of our girls, Frosty and Plum.

Designs courtesy of our girls, Frosty and Plum.

My husband thinks his dad may have built this table in the early 1960s. It had about 4 old layers of paint on it. I suspect one of the layers was really contact paper. I did not do the best refinishing job, but when I realized I was refinishing plywood, my level of caring dropped significantly. Plywood and contact paper aside, there’s something about the table that grabs me.

I will probably have to repaint the floor within a year because I expect it will scrape up in one corner. I am not gifted with patience for surface preparation. At some point, Grandma (the previous owner) made the porch window into a door and built a small room out onto the porch that could be accessed from inside. It’s hard to describe. Grandma needed lots of space for her copious amounts of stuff. We got rid of that room years ago, but there were still traces of vinyl tile adhesive that I didn’t spend a lot of time scraping off.

All in all, I don’t think I was overly sloppy with my workmanship. And now a cup of coffee or a bowl of ice cream tastes really yummy out on the new porch.

